Committees and Subcommittees

The Student Assembly has 16 committees and subcommittees. Additionally, student representatives are appointed to six of APHA’s boards and committees.

For leadership contact information, log into APHA Connect using your member credentials.

Action Committee
Promotes public health advocacy by keeping APHA-SA members informed about major public health policy issues as they arise. Facilitates the transmission of Student Assembly opinions to appropriate decision-makers/legislators.

Co-Chairs: Catherine Zhang, Sheetal Tolia

Advancement Committee
Encourages the development of leadership skills, promotes networking opportunities with fellow students and public health practitioners and facilitates transition into professional roles. Provides student access to public health-related job, internship, award and scholarship opportunities.

Co-Chairs: Sharonda Lovett, Juan Jose Mejia Palacios

Campus Liaisons Committee 
Comprised of over 90 students who represent the Student Assembly on local campuses, the subcommittee disseminates relevant information to students, faculty and staff at their school. It facilitates a sustained dialogue between individual schools and the Student Assembly.

Co-chairs: Ohenewaa White, Danial Malik

Communications Committee
Promotes public health oriented content to students. Disseminates information via the newsletter, Web pages and email listserv. Increases student engagement in public health communications via social media accounts. Maintains an archive of all official meeting minutes and correspondence and updates content on Student Assembly pages on APHA’s website.

Co-Chairs: Germysha Little, Wei Zhang, Chamaine Washington, Margaret Dombrowski

Membership Committee
Maintains a current database of Student Assembly members. Collaborates with and encourages the participation of campus liaisons and fellow student associations in various activities to strengthen member involvement. Helps with recruitment and coordinates special mailings to new members.

Co-Chairs: Jacob Bleasdale, Sam Keimweiss

Mentoring Committee
Works to support the National Mentoring Program, which pairs student and early-career professionals with mentors.

Co-Chairs: Samantha Meeker, Tiara Scott

Nominations Committee
Organizes voting for new board members within the Student Assembly.

Chair: Lauren Joyce

Programming Committee
Coordinates Student Assembly scientific and career sessions, its expo booth and social events at the Annual Meeting.

Co-Chairs: Kara Mannor, Jodi Kutzner

Section Liaison Subcommittee
Establishes and facilitates the sharing of information about student opportunities within fellow APHA membership groups.

Co-Chairs: Suparna Navale, Brenna Kirk

Student Meeting Committee
Plans the one-day Student Meeting at the occurs prior to APHA Annual Meeting.

Co-Chairs: Qiping Fan, Katie Greiner

External Relations Committee
Increases international public health partnerships.

Chair: Anas Khurshid Nabil, Veena Thamilselvan

Science Board Student Representative

Kara Suvada

Action Board Student Representative

Ashlee Van Schyndel

American Journal of Public Health Editorial Board Student Representative

Sami Xu

Council of Affiliates Student Representative

Sami Xu

Education Board Student Representative

Christina Dietz

The Nation’s Health Advisory Board Student Representative

Xinlei Deng

Publications Board Student Representative

Julie Ward

Committee on Health Equity

Ohenewaa White


Center for Climate

Ohenewaa White


Caucus Collaborative Representative

Louis Lin


 Governing Councilor Representatives

Bunmi Ogungbe, Ashlee Van Schyndel, Kara Suvada