APHA announces 2017 award recipients

Date: Sep 26 2017

For more, contact David Fouse, 202-777-2501

Washington, D.C., September 26, 2017  — The American Public Health Association today announced the 2017 recipients of its prestigious national awards, which recognize individuals for leadership, innovation and excellence in the field. The awards will be presented during APHA’s 2017 Annual Meeting and Expo in Atlanta.

"We are honored to recognize these individuals for their outstanding contributions to public health," said Georges Benjamin, MD, executive director of APHA. "Their leadership, service and dedication are exemplary. We celebrate their accomplishments in improving health and helping create the healthiest nation."

APHA’s 2017 awardees are listed below. Visit APHA’s website to view the full awards listings and descriptions.

  • José Cordero, MD, MPH, chair of the University of Georgia College of Public Health’s Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, will receive the Sedgwick Memorial Medal for Distinguished Service in Public Health for his career as a public health researcher, mentor and leader whose work epitomizes the translation of epidemiologic science to public health practice and policy.
  • John Auerbach, MBA, president and CEO of Trust for America's Health, will receive the APHA Award for Excellence for his long career as a public health innovator and champion for prevention, public health, health equity and health for all.
  • Claire Barnett, MBA, executive director of Healthy Schools Network Inc., is being honored with the David P. Rall Award for Advocacy in Public Health for protecting children's health in schools and her work to improve environmental conditions of schools in the U.S. and abroad.
  • Beverley Townsend, MD, MBA, FAAFP, health commissioner for the Georgia Department of Public health's West Central Health District, is being honored with the Milton and Ruth Roemer Prize for Creative Local Public Health Work for her innovation in the delivery of health services, such as the creation of a mobile clinic for the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children, or WIC.
  • Lisa Cooper, MD, MPH, vice president of health care equity for Johns Hopkins Medicine, a James F. Fries professor of medicine and a Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg distinguished professor, is being honored with the Helen Rodriguez-Trìas Social Justice Award for her dedication to improving the health of underserved communities, addressing issues such as health disparities, workforce diversity and cultural competency.
  • Fatima Lunze, MD, ScD, PhD, a pediatrics instructor at Harvard Medical School and Boston Children's Hospital, and Karsten Lunze, MD, DrPH, MPH, assistant professor at Boston Medical Center, are being recognized with the Victor Sidel and Barry Levy Award for Peace for their work in serving victims of war and terrorism.
  • Maxine Hayes, MD, MPH, FAAP, former Washington state health officer, will receive the Martha May Eliot Award for being an advocate for improving maternal and child health and implementing public health approaches to solve population health issues in the state.
  • U.S. Sen. Patty Murray of Washington is being honored for her support of the Affordable Care Act and the Prevention and Public Health Fund and of funding for important federal public health agencies; California state Sen. Kevin de León of Los Angeles is being honored for his work to combat climate change and protect public health, including efforts to improve energy efficiency and promote environmental justice in California. Both will receive APHA’s Distinguished Public Health Legislator of the Year Award.
  • Ana Abraido-Lanza, PhD, MA, professor and director of the Initiative for Maximizing Student Development at Columbia University’s Mailman School of Public Health, is being honored with the Student Assembly Public Health Mentoring Award for being a mentor and inspiring students through their academic programs during their school years and beyond.
  • Ayman El-Mohandes, MBBCh, MD, MPH, MSc, dean of the Graduate School of Public Health and Health Policy at the City University of New York, is being honored with the APHA Executive Director’s Citation for his extraordinary leadership and innovation in strengthening the Association’s membership and development efforts.
  • C. William Keck, MD, MPH, professor emeritus, Northeast Ohio Medical University and past APHA president, is being honored with the APHA Presidential Citation for his dedication to population health and public health education.

# # #

The American Public Health Association champions the health of all people and all communities. We strengthen the profession of public health, share the latest research and information, promote best practices and advocate for public health issues and policies grounded in research. We are the only organization that combines a 145-year perspective, a broad-based member community and the ability to influence federal policy to improve the public’s health. Visit us at www.apha.org.