Science Board

All 16 Science Board members represent one of five core areas of public health: behavioral and social sciences, biomedical sciences and clinical practice, environmental and occupational health, epidemiology and statistics, and health management and social policy. The board participates in the Association policy development process by ensuring that all APHA policy statements are evidence-based. Nominations are being solicited for members with scientific expertise in any one of these five core areas. The Science Board meets during the spring and during the Annual Meeting. The term for members of the Science Board is three years.

2018 Roster

Ayanna V. Buckner, MD, MPH, FACPM
Nandi Marshall, DrPH, MPH, CHES 
(Vice Chair) 
Gillian Barclay, DDS, MPH, DrPH
Danielle Campbell, MPH
Alex E. Crosby, MD, MPH 
Barbara Giloth, DrPH, MPH
Jeffrey Hall, PhD, MA, MSPH, DPH
Diana Kingsbury, MA, MPH
Paul A. Locke, DRPH, JD Vickie M. Mays, PhD, MSPH
Angela McGowan, JD, MPH Haley Moss
(Student Member)
John S. Neuberger, DrPH, MPH, MBA, BME Geraldine S. Perry, MPH, DrPH, RDN
Ann Umemoto
Karina Villalba, MPH, PhD

Acting APHA staff liaison: Adrienne Love, 202-777-2505

APHA Policy on Executive Session (PDF)

2018 Meetings

May 2-3, Washington, D.C.

Nov. 10, San Diego 

Theme suggestions needed for APHA's 2020 Annual Meeting and Expo in San Francisco

APHA members are invited to submit suggestions for program emphasis for the 2020 APHA Annual Meeting and Expo. Send suggestions and a 200-word rationale by April 2 via email to Adrienne Love or use this form (PDF). Suggestions will be considered by APHA’s Science Board.